Meeteetse Museums will host its free, annual field trip to Kirwin, the ghost mining town, on Aug. 12.
Tour participants should meet at the museum by 8:15 a.m. to sign in and also to arrange for a ride if one is needed. The tour leaves at 8:30 a.m.
Those wanting to meet at Kirwin and not wait for the group may do so. A high-clearance vehicle is needed to get to the ghost town. Those without a higher clearance vehicle can arrange for carpooling that morning at the museum. The guided tour will begin at 10:30 a.m. at Kirwin.
Tour participants should bring a picnic lunch and bear spray if going off site. Restrooms are available at Kirwin.
The tour will be different this year, since health issues have stopped longtime hosts Jim and Rich Dunrud from attending. It was their father Carl Dunrud who owned the Kirwin area (and Double Dee Guest Ranch) during the 1930s and ’40s.
In their absence, the 2017 Kirwin tour will be led by Meeteetse Museum staff, rangers from the Shoshone National Forest and geologist Lynn Sessions.
Representatives of the U.S. Forest Service will present information about food and bear safety, plus they will discuss the logging that is currently taking place in and around Kirwin. The logging is part of a Forest Service plan to protect the historic structures from potential fires.
Tour participants will have the opportunity to explore the individual buildings (inside and out), as well as the general layout of the former town. Guests may also hike the trail about a mile to the remnants of the summer cabin that was being built by Dunrud for his friend, aviatrix Amelia Earhart. Construction on the cabin stopped when Earhart’s plane disappeared over the Pacific Ocean in 1937.
This year, Sessions will provide an overview of the geology of Kirwin. In
addition, she will discuss the geology of the…